My first ban :(

After over a year in SL, I have been booted from SL for violation of TOS. I was trading attacks with some doofus in a sandbox when a Linden (Minerva Linden to be exact) came by. I got booted for an hour.

Not my best moment I admit. I let my frustration with griefers get the better of me. I violated my own rules of just moving away or muting. So I guess I got what I deserved.

I’d like a chance to talk to a Linden afterwards, just to be sure things are ok. But I doubt I’ll get it. So I guess lesson learned.

3 Comments

Filed under Second Life, TOS

3 responses to “My first ban :(

  1. Mistletoe

    Well hopefully they’ll realize that you made a mistake, you know better, you’re genuinely sorry, and that it’s not likely to happen again.

  2. fideaux75

    Thanks for the kind words Mistletoe. Here’s a copy of the notecard I sent to Minerva today about this:

    Hi Minerva πŸ™‚

    I feel the need to apologize for my actions yesterday in Sandbox Island. I suppose I had let my temper get the better of me. The other avatar had been firing a gun at me and I let my temper get the better of me.

    If you are interested, I’ve blogged about this experience: https://fideaux75.wordpress.com/

    I’d also like to say that while it is fashionable to bash LL for every action and desision you might make, I personally admire and respect the job you all do. SL is a massive undertaking on a scale that stretches imagination itself. Thank you for the job you do and the service you provide.

    Sincerely,
    Fideaux Boucher

  3. fideaux75

    I got an IM back from Minerva Linden. Here’s what she said. πŸ™‚

    [16:28] Minerva Linden: (Saved Mon Sep 01 08:52:00 2008) Awww πŸ™‚ Don’t worry about it.
    [16:28] Minerva Linden: (Saved Mon Sep 01 08:53:07 2008) The 1 hr suspensions are only meant as a means to give people a chance to compose themselves before they come back in SL. I appreciate the notecard. I wouldn’t worry too much about it. πŸ™‚
    [16:28] Minerva Linden: (Saved Mon Sep 01 08:56:41 2008) Oh yes, in the long term, a 1 hr cooling off period won’t affect you very much. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

